Our region

The Midlands virtually spans central England and formed of two regions – the West Midlands and East Midlands. These regions include the counties of Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, and Worcestershire.

The largest Midlands conurbation, which includes the cities of Birmingham and Wolverhampton, is covered by the metropolitan county of the West Midlands – which also covers the city of Coventry. Parts of the East Midlands are also densely populated, particularly the triangle formed by the cities of Nottingham, Leicester and Derby, which also includes sizeable towns such as Loughborough and the Long Eaton, Beeston, Stapleford sub-conurbation.

Various parts of the Midlands, primarily Warwickshire and Leicestershire, are often referred to as the Heart of England.